About Our School‎ > ‎

Curricular Subjects

In 1999 a new revised Curriculum was introduced into Irish Primary Schools. The Curriculum is being implemented gradually and each year teachers receive inservice and updating in specific subject areas. 

The Primary School Curriculum consists of 6 Curricular areas and these are further divided into 11 subjects. 

Your child will be studying the following areas and subjects: 

Language: Gaeilge & English. 
Social, Environmental & Science Education (S.E.S.E): History, Geography & Science. 
Arts Education: Music, Visual Arts and Drama. 
Physical Education (P.E). 
Social, Personal and Health Education (S.P.H.E): 
Children on the all-weather pitch

There are guidelines on the amount of time to be allocated to each curricular area.

The Curriculum aims to ensure that all children are provided with learning opportunities that recognise and celebrate their uniqueness, develop their full potential and prepare them to meet the challenges of the 21st Century. The focus is on the child as a learner.

The Curriculum aims to foster the development of key skills in communication, problem solving, critical thinking, investigation and interaction. 

It is also the aim of the Curriculum to ensure that children’s experience of school will lead them to value and enjoy learning as a lifelong process. 

Functional literacy, numeracy, and the ability to articulate well are stressed, 

It encourages greater attention to be given to children with Special Educational needs; the needs of gifted children are also stressed.
Pupils who won the Slane Credit Union Quiz