Background

Stackallen was founded in 1840. The name itself derives from the Irish "Stigh Colláin" House of Cullen. A book on the history of the Old School can be purchased from the secretary.

The “new” school was built beside it in two stages: 1968 and 1978. An additional extension was designed by Paul Martin, architect, and built in 2012 by CF Hoey Construction.

Our school comprises of eight mainstream classes and 2 learning support rooms. Our staff consists of Principal, ten teachers, two special needs assistants, secretary and caretaker.

There are also visiting teachers for general music (guitar, keyboard, tin whistle and accordion) and speech and drama.

It is a co-ed school catering for children from Junior Infants to Sixth Class. At present there are 203 pupils.

About our School

Stackallen National School is rural school with a wonderful, vibrant and outgoing philosophy. Our school seeks to provide a stimulating educational experience for all its pupils.

By fostering engaging learning experiences, each child can be enabled to achieve his/her full potential in our school.

We seek to achieve this vision in a climate of positivity and co-operation among the whole school community, working in partnership with parents in the interest of the pupils academic and personal development.